Claude VonStroke and Wu-Tang Clan to Headline Movement 2018

Article by: emily ward|@_drawylime

Wed January 24, 2018 | 16:00 PM

North American techno fans who've anxiously awaited word from Movement Electronic Music Festival since the moment Carl Cox closed out Movement 2017: your time has come. Doing away with separate phase releases as they've done in the past, Movement's full lineup has dropped, and it features Dirtybird don Claude VonStroke leading Saturday night, joined by fellow Dirtybirders Justin Martin and J.Phlip on the bill. Loco Dice rolls into Martinez Brothers for Saturday night's B2B showcase, and hip-hop closes the place down with all nine members of the Wu-Tang Clan on Sunday.

House and techno heavyweights like Lee Burridge ("All Day I Dream"), Seth Troxler, Maceo Plex, Nina Kraviz, Carl Craig, John Digweed, Diplo, Charlotte de Witt, Tiga and Helena Hauff jump out at us as must-sees. Italian Drumcode star Joseph Capriati, a  superstar in Europe but less established here in the U.S., will no doubt expand his rising star status with this booking, as well. 

Detroit's annual Memorial Day mecca gathers the best in Detroit techno, and historically spreads the bill amongst heavyweights in many of techno's ample subgenres. Heavy on the house music tip, scattered with hip-hop, and a notable absence of major leaguers like Richie Hawtin, Nicole Moudaber and Adam Beyer...all in all, Movement's 2018 bill switches things up and has people talking.

We've got to wonder, what does Grandma Techno think of all this?

Movement Electronic Music Festival is May 26-28, 2018 in Detroit, Michigan. Tickets are now available here.

Movement 2018 Lineup